'Keer to Kent' Archive

Issue 33 – Summer 1997

Issue 33 of Keer to Kent was edited by Barry Ayre and covered a wide array of topics, from the history of local postcards, a potted biography of Richard Hubberthorne and an account of the threat posed by Muntjac, to news of Landscape Trust activities, including a report of the official opening of the Trowbarrow local nature reserve. The front cover drawing of Storth Cutting was by Donald Dakeyne. The issue was printed by Pagefast, Ltd, Lancaster on environmentally friendly paper.


Editorial & ContentsBarry Ayre2
Landscape Trust EventsChristine Bennett, George Steel, Bill Huddleston, Alice Evans, Fred Robinson3
Trowbarrow Local Nature ReserveBarry Ayre5
Letters to the Editor6
Even more limekilnsDr Richard Newman7
Use bracken, for peat's sakeBarry Ayre8
Ticks and what to do about themNigel Pickering8
History of local postcardsMike Moon9
Dobshall Wood & Meadow
Bank Well restoration completed
That winter of 1947
Barry Ayre10
The traditional hedger
Hedgerow maintenance
Barry Ayre11
Yealand's Quaker founder
Songbird decline
Barry Ayre12
Warning bells for Arnside sirenDennis Bradbury13
Restoring the River KeerStewart Lowther14
Do you know these named wells?Tony Noble15
Personal Viewpoint: My place in the countryBob Smithies16
Muntjac deer on the rampageSimon Courtald17
The National TrustAlan Ferguson18
Leighton Moss
Gait Barrows
John Wilson
Rob Petley-Jones
Dates for Your Diary20

The Issue

A scanned copy of the complete issue can be browsed below. 

This file can be
Scrolled by pageYes
Viewed full screenYes

Copyright information: please note that the printed edition of “Keer to Kent” and this digital reproduction are copyright of the Arnside/Silverdale AONB Landscape Trust. No part of this publication can be reproduced or republished elsewhere without permission from the Trust. Copies may be downloaded from this web site for personal, non-commercial use only. 

Unless otherwise stated, copyright of articles and other original content within this edition remains with the original contributors.